Increase Your Revenue Without Spending More on Advertising – with WooCurve and ShipStation
This blog was contributed by Chris Mason, co- founder of our new partner WooCurve.
If there was a way to permanently boost your sales without having to spend more money on traffic would you be interested in hearing about it? Hopefully you noticed that word permanent and are leaning forward a little with anticipation…
Hey my name is Chris Mason and I’m the Co-Founder of WooCurve. We help WooCommerce stores make more sales….permanently. We do this by helping stores increase their Average Order Value (AOV).
Your AOV is one of the most important numbers in your business. It’s the average dollar amount of each customer transaction. To calculate your AOV in a given month, simply divide that month’s revenue by the total number of orders.
For example if your revenue one month was $20,000 and you had 1,000 orders – your AOV would be $20. So if you have an AOV of $20 and you figure out a way to grow to $24, you’ve just increased your sales by 20%. It’s really powerful because you can send existing customers or subscribers back through a promotion and you’ll earn more per transaction.
Did you catch that?
If you’re making more per transaction and you send existing customers or subscribers through your store, you’re earning more revenue without paying for more traffic!
Do you want to know step by step how we help WooCommerce stores do this?
And keep in mind that even if you don’t use WooCommerce, you can still use what I’m about to walk you through. We increase AOV through upsells. Specifically through post purchase one click upsells. Adding post purchase one click upsells to your sales funnel is the simplest, most effective way to increase your AOV hands down.
Here are two major reasons why…
Trust – You and I both know it’s easier to sell to an existing customer than it is to acquire a new one. Why? Because they already trust you. And the few seconds after someone chooses to make a purchase in your store is the moment they trust you most! Their brains are full of the feel good chemical dopamine and when you’re able to put a relevant one time offer in front of them while they’re in that state, you only need a small percentage to say “YES” to send your AOV through the roof!
Reduced Friction – Having a true “one click” upsell solution is essential. It means your customer doesn’t have to re-enter their credit card. As I mentioned above, you’ve earned their trust and you have another product that’s going to make their life great. They just entered sensitive information…don’t make them do it again. Reduce friction by simply allowing your them to click “YES” or “NO” on your one time offer. No pressure. No funny business.
The first step is to select what we call your “trigger.” This is the purchase that triggers your upsell funnel. You can set it up for one product, all products or just a category of products. After the initial purchase, your customer will see a special one time offer for another product instead of seeing a thank you page. It’s important to get this part right. Understand that there is a right way and wrong way to show a customer your one time offer. The second step is to follow this basic checklist when you offer an upsell:
The WooCurve Upsell Checklist:
- Confirm their previous purchase
- Give a reason why they’re seeing your one time offer
- Give a reason to act now (typically a limited time discount)
- The upsell product should be able to exist as a single product – no strings attached (i.e. don’t sell a car and have the car’s engine as your upsell.)
- Make it one click to reduce friction
Upsells are essential to permanently increasing your store’s AOV.
The good news is there are plenty of solutions out there if you want to start offering one click upsells. And the good ones will work with ShipStation out of the box.
The bad news for WooCommerce stores is that you haven’t been able to use this strategy in your stores ever.
That’s exactly why we built One Click Upsells for WooCommerce.
One Click Upsells for WooCommerce works with any theme. We combine all your upsell orders into one so it’s easier to fulfill everything when you generate your labels through ShipStation.
If you have any questions just let us know!